Apply for the 2020 Oregon Journalist of the Year

The Oregon High School Journalist of the Year is co-sponsored by the Oregon Journalism Education Association (OJEA) and Northwest Scholastic Press Association (NWSP). The winner of the Oregon competition will automatically be entered in the National Journalist of the Year sponsored by the national Journalism Education Association.

Deadline February 15, 2020.

The Oregon High School Journalist of the Year will be awarded the Alyce Sheetz Memorial Scholarship for $1000.

The winner of this competition will then enter the national contest. The deadline for the state winner to apply for the national award will be March 2020.

The competition requirements are nearly identical to those for the national contest. Find help in completing the application here:

Questions? Email Oregon JEA Director, Brian Eriksen at: